2021 Board of Trustees Voting

Butler Rural Electric Cooperative is governed by an elected board of trustees. Board members are members of the cooperative just like you — they pay the same electric rates as you and live in your community. Board members represent all members as they set policies, monitor the cooperative’s performance, and approve the annual budget. Co-op members vote for trustees each year. Three board seats are up for election this year — District 1, which includes Israel and Oxford townships, District 2, which includes Milford Township, and District 5, which includes Wayne and Madison townships.

Members living in these districts received a notice in the mail in July 2020 to let them know they were eligible to run for the board of trustees. Butler Rural Electric Cooperative’s nominating committee interviewed the candidates running for the board of trustees. The committee is composed of 18 members from all of the cooperative’s voting districts. The committee met on Nov. 16 to interview members running for the board. Committee members asked board candidates questions about their background and experience, their views on Butler Rural Electric Cooperative and the electric industry, and their commitment to serving the community. All candidates were interviewed by the committee, including incumbent board members. The nominating committee chose two candidates from each district to run for the board of trustees after the interviews. Candidates who were not selected were eligible to run by petition, which were due Dec. 31.

This year, members had the opportunity to vote online or by mail between March 31 and 11:59 p.m. on April 27. At the Annual Meeting on April 29, it was announced that the following board members were re-elected: David Evans - District 1, Jim Meador - District 2, and Robert Hoelle - District 5.